Roasted Red Peppers Update

The week after I served The Professor a dinner of Betsy’s Peppers and a leek frittata, I cooked up another batch of the roasted red peppers. I liked having them on hand, ready to heat up for a tasty lunch or afternoon snack, so I made a dozen pepper halves and stashed them in the fridge.

Then the peppers started disappearing.

It took me a couple of days to realize that The Professor was eating them for lunch, eschewing his regular turkey or ham sandwich in favor of these vitamin-packed numbers!

I was pleasantly surprised. It’s one thing for him to eat what I serve for dinner, after all. But pilfering my stash of roasted peppers for lunch — now that meant he really liked them! And it started me wondering whether what I’d thought of as a tasty vegetarian side dish could be transformed into the star of the plate. Maybe with the addition of some feta? And served with a side of Israeli couscous or some other interesting grain? I’ll be trying again soon.

Leave a Reply

