Mark Bittman on Easy Soups

I am very late commenting on Mark Bittman’s first column for the The New York Times Magazine. It ran a few Sundays ago and focused on soups. “Creamy, Brothy, Earthy, Hearty” was the title.

I’m a big fan of soups, and already make several similar to those he suggests — a creamy and gingery butternut squash soup; a tomato soup with fresh basil; a black bean soup. I find the challenge is turning a yummy soup into a satisfying meal.

With the tomato soup, for instance, I serve grilled cheese sandwiches or bruschetta (as my “Italian” Mom taught me to call thick cut toast) rubbed with garlic and olive oil, and served with a selection of cheeses.

The butternut squash soup I served with seared scallops until I suddenly and inexplicably turned against the tasty molluscs. Now I’m struggling to find a good complement.

In any case, I’ll post my soup recipes soon. In the meantime, enjoy Mark Bittman’s.

Leave a Reply

