food 52’s Spring Pea and Ricotta Torte

For several weeks, I’ve been re-reading food52’s recipe for Spring Pea and Ricotta Torte with Lemon and Mint. I love peas. I love ricotta. I love lemon and  mint. And the photograph looked so good I wanted to lick it.

How much more perfect a dinner be?

Or so I thought.

Last night I served it with a simple salad and felt so very sadly underwhelmed. It wasn’t just that The Professor said “it verged on mushy.” After all, he also said that it tasted pretty good. And he helped himself to seconds. And then thirds.

Still I don’t think any of us found it a terribly satisfying meal. Including the camera, which snapped not a single lovely photo of my effort.

Looking back at the original picture, which looks much greener than my result, I wonder if I shouldn’t have added more than the two cups of peas the recipe called for. Or at least added more of the peas into the puree?

In any case, tonight we ordered in.

Leave a Reply

