Super Tasty Blueberry Crisp

This is a most delicious recipe for blueberry crisp. It is off-topic in that I usually write about vegetarian dinners, rather than desserts. But I will say this: The Professor *loves* it and if I served it for dinner he would give it an A!

I’m posting it not because I’ve cooked it recently (hence no picture), but because a loyal subscriber (hint hint) asked if I had any blueberry dessert recipes and, after typing it into any email on the iPad’s ridiculously small key-pad at 5:45 am this morning, I realized that I hadn’t set up the smtpblahblah correctly and the message sat in my outbox all day. So I figured, why not retype it here. Because it is so yummy. So yummy that The Professor forgives me for all of the cooking experiments that I foist upon him. Not to mention the frozen ravioli  that I serve up when I’m too tired to cook.

With that said, this recipe fills one 10″ pie dish + 4 ramekins or 8-10 ramekins

Blueberry Crisp for 8-10

Ingredients:

4 pints blueberries

1 1/3 T flour

1 1/3 lemon juice

topping:

2/3 cup flour

1 cup brown sugar

1 cup oats

3/4 t cinammon

7.5 T butter + more

Heat the oven to 350 degrees

rinse berries and dry well

gently mix the berries with the Ts of flour and lemon juice

set aside as you dump the rest of the topping ingredients into a food processor and pulse until they resemble course bread crumbs

divide the berry mixture among the baking dishes and top with the crumble

bake for 30-40 minutes. check at 30 and if the topping doesn’t look crisp enough, add more slivers of butter.  And more still until it looks crispy.

I’ll post a photo the next time I made it. In the meantime, trust me … it’s soooo tasty.

Comments

2 Comments so far. Leave a comment below.
  1. This sounds delish! I can’t wait to try it I just bought blueberries yesterday 🙂

  2. Marie,

    I can’t wait to try this and I love that it isn’t loaded with sugar.

Leave a Reply

