Ana Sortun’s Beet Tzatziki

I love Ana Sortun’s beet tzatziki. Love it. Think about it when I don’t have any, which is most of the time. And then sometimes run over to Sortun’s cafe, Sofra, to buy some. Forget about The Professor for the moment, who has an aversion to dill. I could eat a pint of Sortun’s beet tzatziki straight. And actually, I might have, because I craved it when I was pregnant last year and eating … robustly.

In any case, my CSA box from Siena Farms this week included beets and Ana’s tzatziki recipe! Now, at the very least, I’ll be able to satisfy my cravings without waiting in line at Sofra. And I might even be able to tweak the tweak the recipe (replacing the dill with a mix of parsley and basil maybe?) to make it more popular with The Professor. He does love beets, after all.

Ana Sortun’s Beet Tzatziki

2 tsp fresh lemon juice or to taste

1 tsp finely chopped garlic

1 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups yogurt or labneh

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 tablespoon freshly chopped dill

ground pepper

1 to 1/2 cups cooked shredded beets

Combine the lemon juice, garlic, and salt in a bowl and let stand 10 minutes. Stir in the yogurt, olive oil, dill, and pepper. Fold in the beets and adjust the seasoning to taste. Serve cold or at room temperature.

Comments

5 Comments so far. Leave a comment below.
  1. Marie,

    Thank you for sharing this! Just made it and it is amazing. I used yogurt from Sophia’s Greek Pantry in Belmont and thought you might like to try that if you haven’t already. (You have to ask for it – they hand pack it.)

  2. I’m so glad you liked it, Marie. And thanks for the Sophia’s tip. I will definitely check it out!

  3. I made this yesterday. So yummy!!

  4. Karen,

    i feel the same way about her beet tzatziki! When i saw this recipe on The Armenian Kitchen blog, my love for her tzatziki was rekindled and I knew I just had to try making it. Thanks to you, I now have Sortun’s recipe! Will have to make both versions now to see if the more traditional version “beets” Ana’s! http://www.thearmeniankitchen.com/2012/07/red-jajik.html

  5. storm,

    Add a few roasted pine nuts for a real treat.

Leave a Reply

